International and Polish film-makers, experts connected with international festivals, journalists and critics writing about cinema – a carefully selected jury is the guarantee of professional evaluation of the competition films.


This year, at the head of the JURY OF THE DOCUMENTARY FILM COMPETITION is Paweł Łoziński
director, scriptwriter, producer of documentary and feature films. He won recognition particularly thanks to intimate documentary films, in which he got close to his protagonists, bridging the distance of the camera. The winner of numerous awards, including the Silver Hobby-Horse for the best documentary film at the 56th KFF for his latest film “You Have No Idea How Much I Love You.”


Together with him, the following people will evaluate the films: Cintia Gil (Portugal) – producer, festival selector, philosopher, and the managing and art director of the documentary film festival Doclisboa, Miroslav Janek (the Czech Republic) – director and producer of over 40 films, lecturer at FAMU, Marek Rozenbaum (Israel) – film producer, he produced over 50 feature and documentary films as well as international co-productions, many of which were awarded all over the world, Julia Teichmann (Germany) – film journalist and the programmer of the festivals DOK.fest in Munich and the Festival of German Films in Ludwigshafen.


The president of the JURY OF THE SHORT FILM COMPETITION is Agnieszka Smoczyńska – film director, author of short documentary and feature films, frequently awarded at festivals, among others, in Krakow for “Aria Diva.” In 2015, she made her full-length feature film début with “The Lure.” The film brought her several dozen awards all over the world, among others, at the Sundance Film Festival.


Short films will also be evaluated by: Mario Micaelo (Portugal) – the co-creator of the international film festival Curtas Vila do Conde, Géza M. Tóth (Hungary) – film director, producer, scriptwriter, in 2007 nominated for the Academy Award for his animated film “Maestro,” Álvaro Yebra (Spain) – distributor and programmer, specialising in short films, Giedrė Žickytė (Lithuania) – director and producer. Her film “I’m Not From Here,” made with Maite Alberdi, won one of the awards at the 56th KFF and was nominated for the European Film Academy Awards.


The JURY OF THE DocFilmMusic COMPETITION is chaired by Gitta Gsell (Switzerland) – director and scriptwriter, author of more than a dozen feature, short and music documentary films, among others, “Melody of Noise,” which won the Golden Heynal at the 56th Krakow Film Festival.

The music jury consists also of: Alessandro Battaglini (Italy) – the manager of the Seeyousond International Music Film Festival and the deputy director of the British Irish Film Fest, Antoni Komasa-Łazarkiewicz (Poland) – composer of film, television and theatre music. He composed music for the films by Agnieszka Holland, Jan Komasa, Maciej Żak, Wojciech Kasperski and Yeşim Ustaoğlu.


At the head of the JURY OF THE POLISH COMPETITION is Dariusz Jabłoński – producer, director, the founder and the president of Apple Film. He is the producer or the co-producer of over 30 feature and documentary films and several televisions series. He made his début as a director with the documentary film “Photographer.” He is the author of the programme ScripTeast for the best scriptwriters from Eastern Europe. Since 2012, he is the president of the Polish Film Academy, he is also the vice-president of the European Producers’ Club.


Other members of the Polish jury are:
Wojciech Kasperski – director, scriptwriter, producer, last year’s winner of the Polish competition for the film “Icon,” Marta Pajek – author of animated films, the winner of the Silver Hobby-Horse at the 56th KFF for the film “Impossible Figures and Other Stories II,” Dorota Segda – actress, the professor of theatre, the rector of the PWST National Academy of Theatre Arts in Krakow, Krzysztof Spór – journalist writing about film and media, promoter and animator of film culture.