The Dragon of Dragons award is granted since 1998 by Krakow Film Foundation Programme Council to the makers of documentary and animated films, whose work had a significant influence on the development of the world cinema in these genres. Among the previous winners of the Dragon of Dragons award there are such renowned film makers as: Kazimierz Karabasz, Allan King, Albert Maysles, Werner Herzog, Stephen and Timothy Quay, Raoul Servais, Jerzy Kucia, Marcel Łoziński.



Jonas Mekas

b. 1922 - d. 2019

American director of Lithuanian origins. Maker of avant-garde films. The most important of them: 'Guns of the trees' (1961), 'The Brig' (1964), 'Walden' (1969), 'Reminiscences of a Journey to Lithuania' (1972), 'Lost, Lost, Lost' (1975), 'As I Was Moving Ahead Occasionally I Saw Brief Glimpses of Beauty' (2000).

The Dragon of Dragons by Bronisław Chromy
ph. Tomasz Korczyński
The Dragon of Dragons by Maciej Jurkowski Lukas
ph. Agnieszka Fiejka